Places in Lofoten

Lofoten is an archipelago located at 67th and 68th latitude, west of the sea north of the Polar circle. The islands consist of Austvågøya, Gimsøy, Vestvågøya, Flakstadøya, Moskenesøya, Værøy and Røst.

The district consists of the six municipalities Vågan, Vestvågøy, Flakstad, Moskenes, Værøy and Røst, as well as those parts of Hadsel located on Austvågøy, with a total of 24 000 inhabitants. Between the mainland and Lofotveggen lies the Vestfjord. Lofoten is known for a spectacular nature with mountains and peaks, the great sea, coves, beaches and vast unspoilt countryside.