Lofoten is an archipelago located at 67th and 68th latitude, west of the sea north of the Polar circle. The islands consist of Austvågøya, Gimsøy, Vestvågøya, Flakstadøya, Moskenesøya, Værøy and Røst.

The district consists of the six municipalities Vågan, Vestvågøy, Flakstad, Moskenes, Værøy and Røst, as well as those parts of Hadsel located on Austvågøy, with a total of 24 000 inhabitants. Between the mainland and Lofotveggen lies the Vestfjord. Lofoten is known for a spectacular nature with mountains and peaks, the great sea, coves, beaches and vast unspoilt countryside.

Overnatting i Å i Lofoten

Å is a time-honoured fishing village steeped in tradition and characterised by fisherman’s cabins and quayside warehouses. The village is situated on the island of Moskenesøy in the borough of Moskenes, and is the terminal point of the E10 road.

Austre Vågan is located south in the rugged and migthy Raftsundet, where the Hurtigruten express route passes twice a day.

Ballstad is an authentic fishermen village, and has Europe's largest mural of approximately 2000 m².

Henningsvær, Lofoten

Henningsvær, the place God had built without the help of surveyors and architects. Welcome to Norway’s most famous and distinctive fishing village, by many referred to as the Venice of the North.

Kabelvåg is the oldest fishing village in Lofoten and with the help of written sources, we can trace the fishery 1000 years back in time.

Laukvik is a fishing village located on the outside of Austvågøy in the municipality of Vågan.

Laupstad is a settlement located in the Austnesfjord on Austvågøya.

Leknes is the biggest town in municipality of Vestvågøy.

Mortsund is an idyllic fishing village facing south on Vestvågøya, right in the heart of Lofoten.

Nusfjord is one of Norway's oldest and best-preserved fishing villages, bounded in scenic nature and steep mountains in Flakstad municipality.

Ramberg is the municipality in Flakstad, and is located at one of the most beautiful beaches in Lofoten.

Reine is one of Lofoten’s best known fishing villages and is the centre of municipal administration in the borough of Moskenes.

Risvær consists of 2 islands, "Heimøya" and "Borterøya".

The island of Røst - is a fishing and bird paradise in Lofoten.

Skrova is named by some as beeing; "The Hawaii of Lofoten" because the small island in the middle of the Vestfjord has the least rain and the most sunny hours in Lofoten.

Sørvågen is a vibrant fishing village in the borough of Moskenes.

Stamsund is one of the biggest fishing villages in Lofoten.

Sund is a fishing village located on the southwest tip of Flakstad island.

Svolvær is the centre of municipal administration in the borough of Vågan, which includes the islands of Gimsøy and Austvågøy.

The small village is located on the outside of Lofoten, in Vestvågøy municipality.

Værøy is the second smallest municipalities in Lofoten, and is located at the tip of Lofoten area.

Vikten is a tiny village in Flakstad Municipality.